New Biltwell Chumps (Mini-Apes)

Biltwell Chumps <- Link to website for purchase.

This entry is about the installation of my new Biltwell Chumps – mini-ape bars on my 2015 Harley-Davidson Iron.

I have been wanting to get some small apes on my ride since I purchase it but it was on the very long list of upgrades and improvements and it took a solid 8+ months before that list got worked down far enough to where these rose to the top spot and it was time to be addressed.

Before install I was concerned that I would loose control-ability of the bike.  The bars would be raised up higher (like my Honda Magna that I had for 10 years) so I thought it would be fine, but it was a big difference from the stock bars on the HD that I had become accustom to over the last 9 months.

This concern proved to be unfounded.  I actually have more control over the bike now, I can make tighter turns with more confidence of control with the new Biltwell bars installed.

FullSizeRender (1)

FullSizeRender (2)

The bars came delivered in a very well packaged cardboard box and also in a cotton weaved sleeve for protection.  It was rather classy how they care for the product in shipment.

IMG_2750

Above are the stock bars.  They are low and with the mirrors on the top you look through them and see nothing but your own arms holding the bars.  So, many people take the mirrors and flip them under/across so that you end up looking down under your hands and the reflection is back under your arms.  This works ‘okay’ but if you have a person on the back their legs block your view completely. Even so, the area of coverage you can see is still limited.

IMG_2763

This was where I discovered that I could re-route all of the wires and controls except for one.  The front brake hydraulic line was far too short for any type of raised bars.  There was maybe a 1/2″ line slack but that was it.  So I had to order a new hydraulic line.  The stock length on my bike was 40″ and I ordered 48″.  I probably could have gotten away with 46″ but I’ve got a little extra just in case now.

IMG_2770

Above is the bike with the stock bars removed.  I have the new hydraulic line to I replaced that and bled the air out of that and made sure that was working and then I started removing all of the controls after I was sure the new brake line was going to work.

IMG_2772

Above is half way through the install of the new bars.  I ended up lifting the tank and doing a little more re-routing of wires until I got it perfect.  I did/redid the wires 3-4 times because I would get one that crossed over another and I wanted them all lined and spaced perfectly and routed for the best and sleek look.  It probably doubled the length of time it took me to do the job but I was taking my time and enjoying my time with Rose so I didn’t mind (Full task: 1 3/4 hours).

11903708_10206416850554048_1137526273841386611_n

Above she is all installed and ready for a test ride.

Turns out, the control and confidence with the new bars increases over the stock bars.  My wrists are even with my shoulders (height).  If I had gone with 12″ bars like so many people were suggesting my hands would have been over my shoulders.

IMG_1741

I am quite pleased with the way she turned out.  I’m going to have to look for some unique looking mirrors now, but that can wait.  I have a long road now to save up for the Vance & Hines Black Short-Shot pipes and the Fuelpak for the full Stage 1 upgrade.

IMG_1739

Very pleased with the new bars.  Lady on a bike today pulled up beside me and asked me if we could trade bikes.  Her eyes were lit up with Awe…. made me smile from ear to ear.






One thought on “New Biltwell Chumps (Mini-Apes)”

Leave a comment